top of page

Sweethearts Inspired Valentine's Day Decor

Valentine's Day and candy go together like peanut butter and jelly, like macarroni and cheese or better yet like a slice of pizza and an ice cold coke! Out of all the candy you could possibly receive during Valentine's Day, my least favorite is for sure the Sweethearts candies. Although not particulary appetizing, they are the cutest Valentine's Day candy! In an ode to their cuteness which is only made better by the sassy phrases emblazoned on them, I dediced to use them as inspiration for a new Valentine's Day decoration!

It all started with an empty space under our TV. A big, empty, boring space that was just begging for some seasonal decor. With only an empty space in mind and no clear idea of how to fill it, I headed to Michael's for some inspiration, hopefully from the clearance area! Once I arrived at the crafter's mecca that is Michael's I was delighted to find that canvases were on sale! I got a whole 10 pack for only 12 bucks! And I still had my 50% off copuon left which led me down the paint aisle and toward a whole fresh pack of new paints for only $4 bucks. I was living the crafting dream!

Once I was home, it didn't take long for all those colors to remind me of the Sweetheart candies and at last inspiration struck! Don't you just love it when that happens?

I started by spray painting 6 of my newly acquired canvases gold. I know it sounds crazy, but go with me here!

After these beauties were nice and dry it was time for the fun part! Painting the hearts! I made one heart out of construction paper in a good size to cover a large part of the canvas, I then used this heart as a stencil to get uniform hearts onto each canvas. As you paint the hearts, you will notice that the paint seems like its not sticking to the gold spray paint. It will look a little something like...

Have no fear and continue painting! After the second coat it will start to fill and the gold will no longer show through. However, I kind of like this look, so feel free to stop here if you so choose!

After I completed all 6 hearts, using white paint, I added words to them that have meaning for our family.

Here is the completed display! I really love how it turned out. The gold gives it a kind of modern twist! If you want to know how to make the heart tree click on the Love Tree tutorial!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page